About Us

About Us

2019 President’s Message

Who We Are

The Massachusetts Vocational Association is a non-profit organization. Membership consists of individuals working in the state of Massachusetts and is available to anyone who would like to support and preserve Vocational/Technical and Career Education at both secondary and post-secondary levels. The majority of our members are educators and also includes administrators, industry leaders, parents, retirees, school committee members, and support personnel associated with vocational/technical and career education.

MVA Membership Benefits

  1. Your support as a member to both MVA and ACTE will provide vocational/technical and career education community representation at state and national levels involving vocational/technical and career education legislation.
  2. Your dues help support scholarships which promote Vocational Education and are tax deductible. The following are yearly scholarships/awards:
    • Outstanding Secondary Vocational/Technical Student
    • Outstanding Post-Secondary Vocational/Technical Student
    • New Teacher Award given to a new teacher who exemplifies excellence in teaching in the vocational high school setting
    • Other awards include: Harold L. Pride Award, Presidential Achievement, Presidential Certificate of Merit, Quarter Century Club and Walter J. Markham Award

2018-2019 MVA Executive Board

MVA Executive Board
President Brian Cummings Worcester Tech (C)
Vice President Jarrod Lussier Southeastern Tech (SE)
Secretary Kyla Korytoski Lower Pioneer Valley (W)
Central Chapter President Patrick Fogarty Keefe Tech (C)
Eastern Chapter President Kerry O’Brien Shawsheen Tech (E)
South Eastern Chapter President Carol Hartnett Blue Hills/Retired (SE)
Western Chapter President Dawn Bowler Lower Pioneer Valley (W)
MAVA President John Lafleche Baypath Regional
MVA Past President Rick Torres Worcester Tech (C)
Mass SkillsUSA Exec. Director Karen Ward
MVA Executive Board Non-Voting Members
2016-19 ACTE Region I Rep. Policy (3-yr. term) Kyla Korytoski Lower Pioneer Valley
Appointment Chairperson
(Past President)
Rick Torres Worcester Tech
Awards Chairperson Don Erickson Loyalty (Retired)
Board of Education Liaison
(Executive Director)
Don Jarvis Lower Pioneer Valley
Finance Director Vicki Serra Keefe Tech
Conference Chairperson Carol Hartnett Blue Hills/Retired (SE)
Executive Director Don Jarvis Lower Pioneer Valley
Golf Chairperson Don Jarvis Lower Pioneer Valley
Legislative Chairperson Vacant
Membership Records & Chair Jennifer Karamanian Bristol Plymouth
Leadership Coordinator Brian Cummings Worcester Tech

MVA Bylaws

Click here to review MVA Bylaws – Revised 2018
MVA Bylaws – Revised 2018